Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees supports the Group Lead Volunteer and ensures the effective administration and governance of the Scout Group. The Group Lead Volunteer nominates the Group Chair and the relationship should be one of partnership and mutual support.

The members of the Board of Trustees are the charity trustees of 2nd Bognor (St. Mary’s) Sea Scout Group.

The Board of Trustees aims to make sure that the Scout Group has the facilities and resources needed to deliver good Scouting in the Group.

This includes:

  • the maintenance of the Group’s property and equipment
  • the raising of funds and the administration of the Group’s finance
  • the insurance of persons, property and equipment
  • Group public occasions
  • assisting with the recruitment of volunteers and other adult support


The Board of Trustees consists of some people who are members because of their role in Scouting (the ex-officio members), these are:

  • Group Lead Volunteer

In addition to the ex-officio trustees, there are three other groups of people who may be members of the Board of Trustees:

  • Elected trustees – these are elected by the Group Council at the Annual General Meeting and there are normally four to six of them
  • Nominated trustees – these are nominated by the Group Lead Volunteer in consultation with the Group Chairman at the Annual General Meeting and there must be no more than the number of elected members
  • Co-opted trustees – these are co-opted by The Board of Trustees for a particular role which can be time limited, such as leading a project, and there must be no more than the number of elected members

Current Trustees

Ex-officio Trustees
Group Lead Volunteer – Elizabeth Bilham

Section Team Lead –
Claire Mills (Beavers)

Elected Trustees
Mark Wisby (Chairman)
Benjamin Hardcastle (Treasurer)
Neil Haughey (Secretary)
Claire Mills
Claire Tarrant
Matthew Tarrant
Rebecca Campbell
Katherine Bilham

Nominated Trustees
Susan Shimell (Group President)
Tom Weaver (Quartermaster)

Co-opted Trustees
None Presently

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls